If your marriage is over, and there is no hope of reconciliation, you can be divorced in Texas either under a no-fault divorce (the marriage has become insupportable because of discord or conflict of personalities that destroys the legitimate ends of the marital relationship and prevents any reasonable expectation of reconciliation) or under the fault provisions (cruelty, adultery, felony conviction, abandonment, & confinement in mental hospital).
You must be a Texas resident for the past six months and a resident of the county in which you bring suit for 90 days.
Similar to a divorce (the marriage is over) but legally means the marriage never happened. You can get your marriage annulled if any of the following are true:
1. You are age 16-17 and you married without parental or judicial consent; the suit must be filed within 90 days of the marriage and before the minor turns 18.
2. You were under the influence of drugs or alcohol and have not voluntarily cohabitated since the intoxication has worn off.
3. Your spouse has permanent impotency that was concealed at time of marriage and you have not voluntarily cohabitated since learning of it.
4. Fraud, duress, or force was used to get you to marry your spouse and you have not voluntarily cohabitated since learning of the fraud or since being released from the duress or force.
5. Suit by next friend – You lack the mental capacity to marry and have not voluntarily cohabitated since having the mental capacity to recognize the marriage relationship.
6. Your spouse lacked mental capacity and you have not voluntarily cohabitated since learning of your spouses mental incapacity.
7. Your spouse concealed divorce within 30 days and you have not voluntarily cohabitated since learning of the concealed divorce.
8. Marriage within 72 hours of getting marriage license – suit must be brought within 30 days of marriage.